## Fall 2024 Session

## Called to Order at 7:00 PM on Monday, August 26<sup>th</sup>, 2024, in the Multipurpose Room Harrison Simpson – Presiding Braxton Westbrook – Taking Minutes

- I. Pledge of Allegiance
- II. Moment of Silence
- III. Roll Call
  - a. See Table 1
- IV. Adoption of the Agenda
  - a. Sen. Zak Henson moved that the agenda as presented be adopted, which was seconded. Without objection, the agenda was adopted.
- V. Reading and Approval of the Previous Minutes
  - a. Sen. Kashaina Nucum moved that the previous meeting's minutes stand approved, which was seconded. Without correction, the previous meeting's minutes were approved.
- VI. Guest Speakers
  - a. None
- VII. Public Comment
  - a. None
- VIII. S.O.L.O. Applications
  - a. None
  - IX. Reading of Reports
    - a. Standing Committees
      - i. None
    - b. Special Committees
      - i. None
    - c. University Committees
      - i. None
    - d. Executive Cabinet
      - i. None
    - e. Executive Council
      - i. Treasurer Report Received
      - ii. Secretary Report Received

III.

- 3. The nominees were confirmed with 22 members voting Aye, 0 members voting No, and 1 member abstaining.
- d. Information Items
  - i. Promulgation of Supreme Court Rules for Case Referrals
    - 1. Associate Chief Justice Montgomery presented the rules adopted by the Supreme Court concerning case referrals as required by the First Judiciary Act of 2024.
- e. Other New Business
  - i. Adoption of Senate Standing Rules
    - Speaker Simpson gave opening remarks on the proposed revised Senate Standing Rules. Subsequentially, Speaker Simpson entertained a motion that the Senate adopt the revised standing rules. Sen Henson made the aforementioned motion, which was seconded.
    - 2. As there was no debate, Speaker Simpson closed debate and moved the chamber into a period of voting on the revised standing rules.
    - 3. The proposed standing rules passed with 23 members voting Aye, 0 members voting No, and 0 members abstaining.
  - ii. Election of Senate Officers
    - 1. Speaker Pro Tempore
      - a. Speaker Simpson opened the floor for nominations for the office of Speaker Pro Tempore. Subsequently, Sen. Henson nominated Sen. Nucum for the office, which was seconded and accepted.
      - b. Seeing as no other nominations were made, Sen. Rainey moved that the Senate elect Sen. Nucum to the office of Speaker Pro Tempore by acclamation, which was seconded.
      - c. As there was no debate, Speaker Simpson closed debate and moved the chamber into a period of voting on the nominee for Speaker Pro Tempore.
      - d. Sen. Nucum was elected to the office of Speaker Pro Tempore with 23 members voting Aye, 0 members voting No, and 0 members abstaining.
    - 2. Chief Clerk
      - a. Speaker Simpson opened the floor for nominations for the office of Chief Clerk. Subsequently, Sen. Nucum nominated Sen. Van Tuyl for the office, which was seconded and accepted.
      - b. Seeing as no other nominations were made, Sen. McCulley moved that the Senate elect Sen. Van Tuyl to the office of Chief Clerk by acclamation, which was seconded.
      - c. As there was no debate, Speaker Simpson closed debate and moved the chamber into a period of voting on the nominee for Chief Clerk.
      - d. Sen. Van Tuyl was elected to the office of Chief Clerk with 23 members voting Aye, 0 members voting No, and 0 members abstaining.
    - 3. Parliamentarian

a. Speaker Simpson opened the floor for nominations for the office of Parliamentarian.

i. Treasurer Bare presented the proposed

## Table 1 Senate Roll