Faculty Senate President's Meeting

May 4, 2020

Members Present:

Douglas Airhart, Jeremy Blair, Troy Brachey, Chris Brown, Debra Bryant, Andrew Callender, Wei-Tsun Chang, Kris Craven, Yun Ding, Mary Lou Fornehed, Stuart Gaetjens, Sheikh Ghafoor, Mark Groundland, Davia@@00043.280cf2a79@rteW/BB/BaFa Jareff IBrian Johes8832657 Kolodg0ef3[Watt(lea8gfr)rdedtQiq0.012(h)9(e00000912 0 & Larimore, Lori Maxwell, Mark Melichar, Christie Miller, Holly Mills, Lachelle Norris, Linda Null, Brian O'Connor, Joseph Ojo, Anthony Paradis, Sally Pardue, Richard Rand, Jeff Roberts, Mike Rogers, Lee Ann Shipley, Sandra Smith-Andrews, Barry Stein, Holly Stretz, Zac Wilcox, Kim Winkle, Jeannette Wolak

Members Absent:

Michael Best, Steven Frye, Christy Killman, Susan Laningham, Mary Matthews, Allan Mills, Troy Smith, Lenly Weathers

Guests Present:

Lee Wray

Call to Order

Senate President Smith-Andrews called the meeting to order at 3:38 p.m.

Senate President Smith-Andrews' Comments

Senate President Smith-Andrews opened the last official meeting of the year by reminding senators that there will be working groups looking at issues regarding reopening the campus in the fall, and that any senators interested in serving in those groups should get their names to the Provost.

President Oldham's Opening Remarks

The President thanked the senators and their colleac JTJ() JTJETQq0.00000912 0 7Prnd 7Pra6)-22(c.025 372.7 Tm0 g0 GJ9

Senators comments: This will help calm down faculty who are anxious about the effect of the pandemic and will help them feel cared-for by the University.

Intellectual Property Policy

It was suggested faculty approve the policy now and make any edits next year for better readability; the approval cannot be deferred indefinitely.

Closing Remarks

President Oldham thanked the faculty for their great works this semester and the last two weeks in particular. Special thanks were given to Sandi Smith-Andrews as outgoing Faculty Senate President, and the President looks forward to working with Holly Stretz as Faculty Senate President next year. The President wished a happy retirement to Christie Miller after her 27 years of service. Douglas Airhart was