# Faculty Senate Breakfast and Workshop Notes

August 16, 2021

## Submitted by K. Craven

#### **Members Present:**

Douglas Airhart, Dan Allcott, Michael Allen, Sean Alley, Troy Brachey, Debra Bryant, Melissa Comer, Kristine Craven, Dennis Duncan, Mary Lou Fornehed, Steven Garner, Scott Hagarty, David Hajdik, Katherine Hermann-Turner, Samantha Hutson, Janet Isbell, Mark Loftis, Jeanette Luna, Ann Manginelli, Lori Maxwell, Jennifer Meadows, Holly Mills, Linda Null, Brian O'Connor, Elizabeth Ramsey, Richard Rand, Christopher Reames, Lee Ann Shipley, Troy Smith, Sandra Smith-Andrews, Kimberly Winkle, Russ Witcher, Laith Zuraikat

## Members Absent:

Stephanie Adams, Chris Brown, Steven Canfield, April Crockett, Yun Ding, Syed Rafay Hasan, Tammy Howard, Christy Killman, Matt Langford, David Larimore, Emily Lee, Janet Liu, Chad Luke, Joseph Ojo, Drew Sisk, Scott Smith, Holly Stretz, Daniel Swartling, Lenly Weathers, Robert Wilbanks

## **Guests Present:**

Helen Hunt \*Fktgevqt"qh'y g"Y qo gpøu'Egpvgt+

## **Supplied Handouts**

Agenda; Shared Governance; Policy Central; Tennessee Tech Faculty Senate

## Welcome and Introduction

Senate President Luna welcomed the group and introduced the Executive Committee members. Each Senator was introduced and gave basic information about themselves.

## **Overview of Shared Governance**

Senate President Luna discussed the principles of Shared Governance. She then introduced Policy Central, how it builds a framework for the operation of the university. She also described y g'Hcewn ('Ugpcvg.'køu'Eqwpekn.'y g'Wpkxersity Assembly, and the meeting schedule. It was also noted that shared governance provides the Faculty Senate with considerable voting power in decisions about university policy and procedure. The Faculty Affairs Committee is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate with the members being appointed from the Senators. Recently, a Faculty Senate Cabinet was formed to facilitate faculty input into more immediate decisions, especially that occur outside of normal business hours. This Cabinet is made up of the Executive Committee and all current Senators who are past Senate Presidents.

Senator Smith-Andrews gave a brief synopsis of the Tennessee University Faculty Senates (TUFS) organization. She discussed the make up of the body, the meeting logistics,

#### Policy 223

There was an ad hoc committee that drafted a memo expressing concerns about the revisions and the need for the administrative council to have a say in the revisions. This issue is not resolved. A revised version of the policy will be coming soon.