Administrative Council

Tennessee Technological University

Minutes Administrative Council February 24, 1999

Members Present

Sue Bailey David Larimore
Paul Bonner Leo McGee
Ed Boucher Allan Mills

Mariles Maries

Evans Brown Marilyn Musacchio Whewon Cho David Narrie Jann Cupp Michael Nivens

Penny Douglas
Dan Fesler
Dennis George
Charles Hickman
Mancil Johnson
William Schrader
Jonathan Sprinkle
Noel Tolbert
Angelo Volpe
Jason Wilds

Dale Wilson

Members Absent

Karen Adams
S. K. Ballal
Marc Burnett
Mark Creter
L. K. Crouch
Gregory Danner
Paul Isbell
Homer Kemp
Regina Lee
Jeffrey Marquis
Linda Maxwell
Mary Beth Odom
Terry Rector
Paul Semmes

Others Present

Pat King, Resource Person Sue Pogue Margaret Phelps (representing Karen Adams) Jim Westmoreland Darla Wilhite (representing Terry Rector)

Summary of Proceedings

Approved the Agenda as Distributed.

request with Mr. Sprinkle SECONDING. MOTION CARRIED. Dr. Schrader said he has no problem with the proposal but pointed out a few years ago the name Computer Resources Committee was changed to Information Technology Committee so they would not be the same as the Computer Center and now it is being proposed to change the name of the Computer Center to Information Technology Services.

Faculty or Administrative/Professional Staff Tuition Maintenance Fee Reimbursement Program - Dr. Leo McGee

It is recommended that for individuals who wish to attend other than a Tennessee public

Administrative Council Minutes February 24, 1999 - Page 3

institution under the faculty/administrative/professional staff tuition maintenance fee reimbursement program, Tennessee Technological University will pay a credit hour amount equal to the credit hour amount required to attend Tennessee Technological University. Additionally, per Tennessee Board of Regents Guideline P-130, this program is subject to funds being budgeted and available within the institution. It is also recommended that this procedure be effective upon approval by the Administrative Council. Employees currently enrolled in this program will be grand fathered under the previous procedure until they finish their current program. It is also recommended that the approval process for this program be expanded to include routing through normal University channels; i.e., Director, Chairperson, Dean, Vice President for Academic Affairs, President. In the past, employees could send requests directly to the President without their supervisors' knowledge. Dr. Cho MOVED approval of the proposal with Mr. Sprinkle SECONDING. Dr. Schrader suggested a friendly amendment

Such Other Matters

The Chairperson said it is time to elect a chairperson for the Administrative Council for the 1999-2000 year. The Nominating Committee to recommend a chairperson will be: Dr. Whewon Cho, Chair; Dr. Paul Semmes, Professor Mancil Johnson, Professor Allan Mills, and Dr. Jeffrey Marquis.

The Chairperson said a recommendation was received by President Volpe from the Buildings and Grounds Committee concerning approval to place a steel teaching frame in a low-traffic area at the north, rear side of Prescott Hall for the Civil and Environmental Engineering

Department. Since a donor would be furnishing the teaching frame and needed a quick response, Dr. Volpe approved the request.

Dr. Sue Bailey said she, Mr. Ken Hunter, and Dr. Dan Fesler met with Chancellor Smith to discuss input into the presidential search at Tennessee Tech. She said the Chancellor was very receptive to staff, faculty, administration, and students having input into the selection process. She said the Chancellor is looking at interviewing candidates as early as the end of fall semester, 1999.

Administrative Council Minutes February 24, 1999 - Page 4

Dr. Brown said the External Review Committee was with the College of Education the week of February 8. For TBR review were the graduate program in Health and Physical Education and the