MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY September 12, 2007

The Academic Council met at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 12, 2007, in the Deans' Conference Room of Derryberry Hall with Christine Miller, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Paul Semmes Dr. David Larimore Dr. Larry Peach Dr. Sharon Huo Dr. Bob Wood Dr. Don Visco Dr. Winston Walden Mrs. Susan Clark Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser Dr. Gretta Stanger Mr. Mitchell Davis Dr. Kari Rajan Ms. Whitney Tayes Dr. Linda Null Ms. Nicole Bostick Mr. Ray Jordan Dr. Brian O'Connor Dr. Cathy Cunningham Dr. Susan Laningham Dr. John Harris Dr. Jeff Roberts Dr. Darrell Hov Dr. Christine Miller Dr. Pat Jordan Dr. Jack Armistead Dr. Pat Bagley

Others attending the meeting were Ms. Denise Hensley, Dr. Russ Witcher, Mr. Marc Burnett, Ms. Yvonne Gribble, and Ms. Patricia McKenzie. The following members of the Council were absent:

Dr. Susan Elkins Dr. Corinne Darvennes

Dr. Bobby Hodum

Ms. Amy Blaylock

Dr. Jim Baier

Dr. Steve Isbell

Mr. Dan Gager

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approved the agenda.

Approved the minutes of the April 4, 2007 meeting.

Discussed revisions to the Academic Council Procedures.

Selected committee to review the role of unspecified persons in a grade appeal meeting. Discussed proposed process for evaluating transfer transcripts and requests for substitutions and exceptions.

Discussed the plus and minus grading system.

PROCEEDINGS

Approval of Agenda

Dr. Miller requested the agenda items order be modified changing item 3 to 5 and vice versa. Dr. Larimore MOVED approval of the agenda as modified and Dr. Loutzenheiser SECONDED the motion. The agenda was approved as modified.

Approval of the Minutes of th