## The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Larry Peach Dr. Steve Ca

Dr. Bobby Hodum Dr. Shannon

Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser Dr. Corinne

Mr. Lee Gatts
Dr. Susan G
Mr. Daniel Bouch
Dr. Linda N

Mr. Bo Murphy Dr. Jon Jona

Dr. Michael Best Dr. Brian O'
Dr. Susan Laningham Dr. John Ha

Dr. Jeff Roberts Dr. Holly Ar

Dr. Steve Isbell

Dr. Lebron Bell
Dr. Chris Wilson

Dr. Susan Elkins Mr. Julian Lyons

## SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approved the agenda

Approved the minutes of the April 14, 2010 meeting

Discussed Guidelines for Granting Unpaid Leaves of Absence

Discussed Proposed Policy for Promotion of a Tenured Instructor

## Guidelines for Granting Unpaid Leaves of Absence

Dr. Armistead stated that this is not a new policy, but a guideline to interpret the current policy. (See attachment) This is a reference for the deans and chairs when considering unpaid leaves of absence. This is not an entitlement for the faculty as the department may not be able to wait for the faculty to return or maintain the workload without them. The department's ability to meet their obligations is a primary factor in granting a leave of absence. The most important issue to consider is that the person intends to return to TTU. This guideline will be placed in the appropriate area of the Faculty Handbook.

Dr. Armistead MOVED that this item should be changed from an action item to a vote by the Council since this will be part of the current tenure and promotion policy, and Dr. Isbell SECONDED. (See attachment) Dr. Armistead stated that there is no current policy specifically for this and it will be added to the Faulty Promotion Policy in the Faculty Handbook. Each department and college will still have the choice