MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY

October 15, 2014

The Academic Council met at 3:35pm on Wednesday, October 15, 2014 in Derryberry Hall Room 200 with Dr. Steve Isbell, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Bobby Hodum Prof. Sue Piras

Dr. Liz Mullens Ft0"Dtkcp"QøEqppqt
Dr. Ken Wiant Dr. David Larimore
Dr. Doug Bates Dr. Jim Raymondo
Dr. Lee Ann Shipley Dr. Janet Isbell

Dr. Jordana Navarro Dr. Corinne Darvennes

Dr. Elizabeth Propes Dr. Linda Null

Dr. Steve Isbell Mr. William Gabelman
Dr. Doug Talbert Mr. Daniel Williamson
Prof. Barbara Jared Ms. Kaitlin Townsend

Others present were Dr. Joe Biernacki, Dr. Michael Birdwell, Dr. Allan Mills, Dr. Ferdinand DiFurio, Dr. Troy Smith, Dr. Rita Barnes, Dr. Steve Sharp, Prof. Susan Clark, Ms. Kelly Ramey,

Ms. Amber Spears, and Ms. Denise Burgess. Dr. Vahid Motevalli represented Dr.

Loutzenheiser, Dr. Julie Baker represented Dr. Shank, and Dr. Joe Roberts represented Dr. Geist.

The following members were absent:

Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser
Dr. Michael Phillips
Dr. Paul Semmes
Dr. Charles Carnal
Dr. Jennifer Shank
Dr. Tammy Boles
Dr. Melissa Geist
Dr. Daniel Badoe
Dr. Bruce Greene
Dr. Wali Kharif
Dr. Ismet Anitsal
Mr. Daniel Tribble

Dr. Martha Howard

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approved the agenda

Approved the minutes of the April 2, 2014 meeting

Approved termination of CSIT Concentration in Computer Science

Approved amendment to Honors Program Charter

Discussed name change for the Honors Program

Discussed Rural Policy Institute

Approved change to admissions requirements for MS in Engineering

Deferred academic freedom and responsibility policy to a subcommittee

Approved awarding posthumous degrees policy

Approved emeriti faculty policy

Approved endowed chair holder appointment policy

PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Darvennes MOVED approval of the agenda and Mr. Gabelman SECONDED. The agenda was APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of the Minutes of the April 2, 20

Dr. Jordanna Navaro, Dr. Troy Smith,