## MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY

October 14, 2015

The Academic Council met at 3:35pm on Wednesday, October 14, 2015 in Derryberry Hall Room with Prof. Barbara Jared, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Thomas Payne Prof. Barbara Jared Dr. Doug Bates Dr. Troy Smith Dr. Bobby Hodum Dr. Linda Null Dr. Darrell Hoy Dr. Jeremy Wendt

Dr. Paul Semmes

Dr. Jordana Navarro Dr. David Larimore Dr. Elizabeth Propes Dr. Jim Raymondo Dr. Steve Isbell Dr. Janet Isbell

Dr. Corinne Darvennes Dr. Jeremy Hansen Dr. Christy Killman Ms. Micayla Holton

Dr. Stephen Idem

Dr. Melinda Swafford represented Dr. Liz Mullens and Mr. Logan Smith represented Mr. Nick Russell. Others present were Dr. Jie Cui, Dr. Mohan Rao, Dr. Mark Loftis, Dr. Joe Rencis, Dr.

Huey-Ming Tzeng, and Dr. Bahman Ghorashi. The following members were absent:

Dr. Jennifer Shank Dr. Holly Stretz Dr. Melissa Geist Dr. Tammy Boles Prof. Sue Piras Dr. Liz Mullens Dr. Lee Ann Shipley Mr. Nick Russell Dr. Janice Branson Mr. Connor Hodge Dr. Ismet Anitsal Ms. Nickole Anderson

## SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approved the agenda

Approved the minutes of the September 9, 2015 meeting

Approved concentration name change in Counseling and Psychology

Approved request for 1+1 MS degree program in Engineering

Approved proposal for an Engineering program with TTU and ETSU Approved proposal for a DNP Nursing program with TTU and ETSU

Approved recommended changes for the policy on faculty evaluation of administrators

## **PROCEEDINGS**

Approval of the Agenda

Approval of the Minutes of the September 9, 2015 Meeting

regarding the - He apologized for the delay in submitting this information to the Council. The policy states only the President and Provost will be evaluated. Dr. Hodum stated the subcommittee reviewed three options: (1) Leave the policy as is; (2)