MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY November 11, 2015

The Academic Council met at 3:35pm on Wednesday, November 11, 2015 in Derryberry Hall

The following members of the Council were present:	
Dr. Doug Bates	Dr. Troy Smith
Dr. Darrell Hoy	Dr. Linda Null
Dr. Paul Semmes	Dr. Jeremy Wendt
Dr. Liz Mullens	
Dr. Jordana Navarro	Dr. David Larimore
Dr. Elizabeth Propes	Dr. Jim Raymondo
Dr. Steve Isbell	Dr. Janet Isbell
Dr. Jeremy Hansen	Dr. Corinne Darvennes
Dr. Christy Killman	Mr. Connor Hodge
Dr. Tammy Boles	Ms. Micayla Holton
Prof. Barbara Jared	

Prof. Becky Turpin represented Prof. Sue Piras and Dr. Natarajan represented Dr. Tom Payne. Others present were Dr. Halina Ablamowicz, Mr. Michael Aikens, Dr. Steve Canfield, Dr. Glenn James, Dr. Joe Roberts, Dr. Steve Sharpe, Dr. Mark Stephens, Dr. Doug Talbert, and Dr. Ken Wiant. The following members were absent:

Dr. Tom Payne	Dr. Ismet Anitsal
Dr. Bobby Hodum	Dr. Stephen Idem
Dr. Jennifer Shank	Dr. Holly Stretz
Dr. Melissa Geist	Prof. Sue Piras
Dr. Lee Ann Shipley	Mr. Connor Hodge
Dr. Janice Branson	Ms. Nickole Anderson

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approved the agenda

Approved the minutes of the October 14, 2015 meeting Approved the Policy on Faculty Evaluation of Administrators Approved proposal for new data concentration in Computer Science Approved proposal for new concentration in TESOL in Professional Studies Approved proposal for curriculum modification in Speech Approved proposal for a certificate in innovation and entrepreneurship Approved proposal for flight path and fast track options in Curriculum and Instruction

PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Wendt MOVED approval and Ms. Holton SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of the Minutes of the October 14, 2015 Meeting

Dr. Darvennes MOVED approval and Mr. Russell SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of Policy on Faculty Evaluation of Administrators

Dr. Stephens spoke on behalf of Dr. Huo. The Council approved at the October meeting to change section III.A. to include the administrators currently listed on the Administration website. The revised policy is being presented for approval. Dr. Propes MOVED approval and Dr. Darvennes SECONDED.

Dr. Glenn James presented information on the evaluation process and past response rates and requested the Council table the vote to allow him time to discuss this further with the subcommittee. After questions and discussion, Dr. Hoy MOVED to table the policy and Dr. Larimore SECONDED. The vote was 14 yes, 4 no, and 2 abstentions.

On November 16, Academic Council Chair Barbara Jared sent an email to all Council members stating the Provost wanted the faculty to have an opportunity to vote on this policy at the University Assembly on November 18. The change in evaluation of administrators was initiated by faculty when faculty voiced a concern that they were not allowed to evaluate administrators that were evaluated by faculty in the past. Dr. Steve Isbell MOVED approval of the email vote to reconsider this policy as presented at the Academic Council meeting November 11 and Dr. Navarro SECONDED. The vote was 17 yes, 2 no, and 1 abstention. The policy was presented