MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY November 9, 2011

Conference Room of Derryberry Hall with Linda Null, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Pat Bagley Dr. Mary Pashley

Dr. Paul Semmes

Dr. Matt Smith Dr. John Harris

Dr. James Jordan-Wagner Dr. Corinne Darvennes

Prof. Linda McQuiston Dr. Susan Gore
Dr. Susan Laningham Dr. Linda Null
Dr. Steve Isbell Dr. Jon Jonakin

Other persons present were Ms. Beth Rogers, Dr. Lisa Zagumny, Mr. Arthur LaBar, and Mr.

Daniel Tribble represented Mr. Clint Durham. The following were absent:

Dr. Bobby Hodum Dr. Lee Ann Jolley

Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser

Approval of the Reorganization of the Department of Music and Art

Dr. Smith stated that the Department of Music and Art wishes to separate the departments into two individual departments, the Department of Art and the Department of Music. Mr. LaBar stated that he would be retiring in July 2012 and that will allow the College of Education to search for a Chair of Music and a Chair of Art. Mr. Doubet will be returning to his department in Fall 2012 as a faculty member, and a search will be conducted for a permanent director of the Craft Center. Dr. Smith MOVED approval of the reorganization and Dr. Isbell SECONDED. The discussion to reorganize the department began in 2001 and had the support from the previous dean of education and provost. Due to budget cuts and needed resources for the reorganization, the proposal was not able to move forward until now. The proposal has been approved by the department faculty, College of Education, Craft Center, Provost, and Curriculum Committee. The two disciplines currently act separately on faculty issues such as curriculum and tenure and promotion. The proposal was APPROVED unanimously.

Approval to Delete Concentrations in the Instructional Leadership Program

Dr. Smith stated that four concentrations in the Instructional Leadership Program no longer exist due to mandated changes in the Instructional Leadership Program from the Tennessee Department of Education. It is requested that the following concentrations be deleted from the curriculum: Elementary Principal, Materials Supervisor, Secondary Principal, and Supervision of Instruction. Dr. Smith MOVED approval to delete these concentrations and Dr. Gore SECONDED. The request was APPROVED unanimously.

Such Other Matters

Dr. Null stated that at a previous Council meeting, Dr. Loutzenheiser had agreed to chair a subcommittee to review early warning programs for students. However, Dr. Loutzenheiser is not able to serve as chair of this subcommittee due to his extensive involvement in the SACS review and his many other duties. Ms. Beth Rogers has agreed to chair this subcommittee and Ms. Edith Duvier and Ms. Julie Galloway will serve on the committee. Faculty members are also needed to serve on this committee. Dr. Pashley was asked to serve and Prof. McQuiston has agreed to serve.

Dr. Null asked the Council to feel free to submit agenda items for future Academic Council meetings to her.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:40pm.

APPROVED January 25, 2012

Carol Holley, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes:

Memo and proposal to reorganize the Department of Music and Art Memo to delete concentrations in the Instructional Leadership Program