MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY NOVEMBER 7, 2012

The Academic Council met at 3:35pm on Wednesday, November 7, 2012 in the Deans' Conference Room of Derryberry Hall with Linda Null, Chairperson presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

-	-
Dr. James Jordan-Wagner	Dr. Charles Carnal
Dr. Doug Bates	Dr. Doug Talbert
Dr. Matt Smith	Dr. Linda Null
Prof. Barbara Jared	Dr. Wali Kharif
Dr. Susan Laningham	Dr. Corinne Darvennes
Dr. Steve Isbell	Mr. Robert Griffin
Dr. Mary Pashley	

Other persons present were Dr. Brenda Wilson, Mr. Ward Doubet, and Ms. Beth Rogers. Ms. Jerri Winningham represented Dr. Bobby Hodum, Dr. Ahmed ElSawy represented Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser, Dr. Melissa Geist represented Dr. Pat Bagley, and Dr. Kurt Eisen represented Dr. Paul Semmes. The following members were absent:

Dr. Bobby HodumDr.Dr. Roy LoutzenheiserDr.Dr. Pat BagleyDr.Dr. Paul SemmesDr.Dr. Susan ElkinsDr.

Dr. Daniel Badoe Dr. Brian O'Connor Dr. John Harris Dr. Holly Anthony

Nursing has grown tremendously in students, faculty and staff since the merge with the College in 2006. The intent in 2006 was to save money by having a Director of Nursing instead of a Dean of Nursing. However, this was not a savings. Dr. Sherry Gaines, Director of Nursing, is resigning at the end of December and this is a good time to search for a Dean of Nursing. Nursing is the only named unit on campus, the Whitson-Hester School of Nursing, and has the second newest building on campus. This change will not affect faculty tenure and no additional