MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY April 15, 2009

The Academic Council met at 3:30pm on Wednesday, April 15, 2009, in the Deans' Conference Room of Derryberry Hall with Corinne Darvennes, Chairperson presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Bobby Hodum	Dr. David Larimore
Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser	Dr. Don Visco
Dr. Paul Semmes	Dr. Brian O'Connor
Dr. Susan Elkins	Dr. John Harris
Dr. Jeff Roberts	Dr. Gretta Stanger
Dr. Steve Isbell	Dr. Corinne Darvennes
Dr. Christine Miller	Dr. Kari Rajan
Mr. Ray Jordan	

Ms. Regina Lee represented Ms. Deanna Nipp-Kientz. Others attending the meeting were Dr. Francis Otuonye, Dr. Deivy, and Ms. Phyllis Miller. The following members of the Council were absent:

Dr. Pat Bagley	Prof. Susan Clark
Dr. Larry Peach	Dr. Michael Best
Dr. James Jordan-Wagner	Dr. Susan Laningham
Ms. Deanna Nipp-Kientz	Dr. Pat Jordan
Mr. Grayson Peek	Dr. Sharon Huo
Mr. Alston Peek	Dr. Holly Anthony
Mr. Walter Fitts	Dr. Linda Null
Ms. Kristen Perrone	

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approved agenda Approved the minutes of the March 18, 2009 meeting Approved annual reports from committees reporting to the Academic Council Elected a chairperson for 2009-2010 Approved the postdoctoral research/scholars policy Approved the visiting scholar program policy

PROCEEDINGS

<u>Approval of the Agenda</u> Dr. Larimore MOVED approval of the revised agenda and Dr. Harris SECONDED. Agenda APPROVED unanimously.