MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY September 6, 2023

The Academic Council met at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 6, 2023 via Teams videoconferencing technology, with Professor Kimberly Winkle, presiding.

The following members of the council were present:

Dr. Thomas Payne Dr. Kumar Yelamarthi Dr. Jeff Roberts Dr. Jennifer Shank Dr. Mike Gotcher Dr. Lisa Zagumny Dr. Darron Smith Dr. Lee Ann Shipley Dr. Dennis Fennewald Dr. Brian O'Connor Dr. Sean Alley Dr. Hyewon Park Dr. Melissa Comer Dr. Christy Killman Dr. Scott Christen Dr. Ann Manginelli

Others present were:

Dr. Sharon Huo Dr. Bedelia Russell Dr. Mark Stephens Dr. Julie Baker Ms. Karen Lykins Dr. Jennifer Mabry Dr. Matt Langford Ms. Megan Atkinson Dr. Troy Smith Dr. Linda Null Ms. April Crockett Dr. Brenda Wilson Dr. Mustafa Rajabali Dr. Krystal Kennedy Dr. Lenly Weathers Ms. Claire Myers Ms. Lindsey Taylor Mr. Eli Anderson

Dr. Kent Dollar Dr. Barbara Jared

The following members of the council were absent:

Dr. Mark Creter Dr. Stephen Canfield Dr. Syed Rafay Hasan Dr. Christopher Reames Dr. Amber Spears Ms. Reece Edwards

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda Approval of the Minutes from the May 10, 2023 Meeting Whitson-Hester School of Nursing Admission Change: Reference letters for Post-Grad Certificate Whitson-Hester School of Nursing Fast Track Admission to MSN Policy 221 Substantive Change (First Reading) Policy 224 Academic Actions Notification (First Reading) Policy 225 New Academic Programs (First Reading)

Policy 224 Academic Actions Notification (First Reading)

Dr. Sharon Huo stated this policy establishes an approval process for submitting required notifications of Tennessee Tech's academic actions to the Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC) in order to maintain the state's Academic Program Inventory (API).

Policy 225 New Academic Programs (First Reading)

Dr. Sharon Huo stated upon determination by THEC that a proposed academic program will be supported for approval by the THEC Commission, the Provost's Office will submit the NAPP to the Board of Trustees for approval. After Board approval, the Provost's office will submit the record of Board approval and a request to THEC Executive Director that the proposed program be placed on the earliest possible Commission agenda for final approval.

Policy 226 Academic Program Modifications (First Reading)

Dr. Sharon Huo stated the Provost's Office will submit the approved APM proposal and a TTU Internal Cover Form with appropriate signatures to THEC for review and approval. The Provost's Office will present the APM to the Tennessee Tech Board of Trustees as an information item.

Policy 227 New Academic Units (First Reading)

Dr. Sharon Huo stated after the Board's approval, the Provost's Office will submit the institutional- and Board-approved request for a new Academic Unit (including all required materials as outlined in the New Academic Units Checklist and an Internal Cover Form) in writing to the THEC Executive Director for review and approval, in accordance with THEC Policy A1.3.

Policy 259 General Education (First Reading)

Dr. Sharon Huo stated TBR community college students who do not complete the Associate of Arts, Associate of Science, or Associate of Science in Teaching but who, in the discretion of Tennessee Tech, complete a subject category as defined in section III.B above will have satisfied the Tennessee Tech general education requirement for that category.

Policy 261 Academic Credit from Other Institutions (First Reading)

Dr. Sharon Huo stated an applicant or student must submit to Tennessee Tech an official transcript showing all post-secondary coursework taken at any institution of higher education. Failure to submit official transcripts of all previous work, as well as any falsification of the

Such other Matters There were no such other matters.

Adjournment

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Amy McCoy, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes: All documents presented at the meeting

APPROVAL October 4, 2023