MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL

Dr. Daren Snider Dr. Lisa Zagumny Dr. Christy Killman Dr. Brenda Wilson Dr. Lenly Weathers Dr. Amber Spears Ms. Cheyenne Bare

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda Approval of Minutes from the October 9, 2024 meeting New Policy 791 - Research Security Framework Addition of two New Concentrations- School of Environmental Studies Admission Requirement Change- Whitson-Hester School of Nursing Certificate Change- School of Professional Studies Add a New Concentration- School of Professional Studies New Minor, Appalachian Studies- History New Concentration, B.S. Live Audio Engineering- Music Concentration Deletion- Agriculture New Policy 216 Student Academic Integrity Such Other Matters Adjournment

Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Mike Gotcher MOVED approval and Dr. Scott Christen SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of the Minutes from the October 9, 2024 Meeting

Dr. Mike Gotcher MOVED approval and Dr. Scott Christen SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Dr. Charmian Leong stated Tennessee Tech recognizes that open scientific collaboration between scholars from all over the world is one of the cornerstones of innovation and technological advancement. However, the research community faces a rising threat from foreign governments and entities that seek to exploit and undermine the United States' research and intellectual capital. While Tennessee Tech strongly supports and encourages collaborative research, we also recognize the necessity of having safeguards in place to protect intellectual properties and our research enterprise from undue foreign influences. After much discussion Dr. Mike Gotcher MOVED approval and Dr. Scott Christen SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Dr. Hayden Mattingly stated we developed the new concentrations as a response to student demand, both in industry and those currently in undergraduate degree programs. The new concentrations have been reviewed and approved in draft form by our PSM Industrial Advisory Board at our most recent board meeting in January 2024. After little discussion Dr. Mike Gotcher MOVED approval and Dr. Scott Christen SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.